A year off… Finishing work, to go to work!

I promised that I’d blog about my year off, so I better get busy with my first post.

Wow, it’s hard to believe that I am off for a year…

I really do like teaching it is a great profession and I like working with so many amazing students all year.

Grad was just over 3 weeks ago, my last day of school for over a year. It was a nice ceremony, there are a few lines that were written by Mrs. Bloomfield that make me tear up every time I read them. Even when practicing by myself in the classroom. The line about ‘sending students forward into their bright and promising future’, and ‘flip your tassel, as you flip another page in your life’.

This is a picture of one of my students from this year, I always like when a student asks me to pose for a picture. Alana is a great student and I was happy that her parents sent me this e-mail. I wish all my students nothing but the best in their future. I’ll probably miss grad next year, although, who knows, I might be back.

IMG_0804

Well I’ve kind of started my travel; grad was on Friday and I was in Red Deer, Alberta by Sunday. I’ve got 8 weeks of work at Penhold Air CadetSummerTrainingCenter. I like it out here, I’ve got a different job than I’ve had in the past; this summer I am the Unit Conflict Management Advisor. It can be a heavy job at times, but I am also looking forward to it.

At the end of our first week of training we had a mess dinner. This is an excellent formal meal, that is steeped in tradition. Here are a few pics.

IMG_0583 IMG_0585 IMG_0588 IMG_0806 IMG_0593 IMG_0595 IMG_0597

At the end of week two, I found myself in a job that wasn’t too foreign; I was the MC for the staff cadet grad parade. With 136 staff cadets being promoted and appointed, it was a little like grad, practicing names and working on my script. There were a few hiccups, as this was my fist time for this specific parade, but all and all it went off without any problems.

Well from the desk of Captain Mitchell, have a great summer!

IMG_0807

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

