A walk in time; Planes, Flowers and Moose…

One of my favoutite things to do here when I get some free time is to…

…go for a walk.   There is a relatively short trail just south of the base that has some branches.   I’ve set up a 7km loop that includes this trail as part of the section, let me help show you some of the trail…

The Harvard MK IV, is a reminder of the history of the Base, started in 1939 and opened by 1941, what would become known as CFB Penhold was an important base, one of 231 locations ran by the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, as a base to help train airmen to fight in World War II, you can get a more detailed story here;  http://www.paulpettypiece.com/penhold_base.htm

IMG_0609 IMG_0708 IMG_0710 IMG_0610

What would a walk with me be without stopping to smell the roses?  And with the wild rose being the provincial flower of Alberta, it always excites me to see these in bloom here in the prairies.

IMG_0602

However, these are not the only flowers I see.   I know many do not enjoy flowers with the same excitement I do, I just had to take a picture of this grass in bloom, as many people laugh and don’t believe me when I talk about flowering grass, this grass had a very beautiful yellow flower that can be seen here.

IMG_0608 IMG_0611

See grass does flower.

As I walk through this short trail, I can’t stop but think, what would this place have looked like 100 years ago?  500 years ago?  1000 years ago.   I actually think this many places I go, but this trail shows the contrast of some natural prairie vs the farmer’s field, and I can’t imagine what it would have been like to be riding a horse through this great part of Canada a few hundred years ago.   I always thought it would be neat if they could build a trail from Edmonton to Calgary, that kind of goes through/across farmers fields and natural areas like this, how great a walk it would be.   I think I’d do it.

IMG_0601 IMG_0604 IMG_0605 IMG_0606 IMG_0607

And last but not least, wildlife.   I was dumbfounded to run into some moose, while out walking.   This is not the first time I’ve seen moose out here, the first time was in a farmer’s field in 2009, while driving back to base from the range.   Well imagine my surprise while I was walking to have this moose walk out and look at me.   We watched each other for quite awhile.   It must have felt comfortable with me as it decided to pee in front of me.   And what happens next?   A second moose decided to pop it’s head out of the bush and pee in front of me too.  All and all, I think we spent close to 40 minutes hanging out and watching each other.   I wonder if our paths will cross again this summer?

IMG_0684 IMG_0690 IMG_0691 IMG_0695 IMG_0704

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

