Almost done my time at Penhold Air Cadet Summer Training Center

It is hard to believe that it has been almost 3 weeks since my last post.

Although I miss family, friends, and home; time really does fly. My time out west seems to be going really fast, as I am 2/3 done my summer contract. Part of me wonders if it would be different if I knew that I had to go back to school in the fall. I think because there is no real work awaiting me, it seems I still have my summer ahead of me.

I haven’t been on too many adventures since my last post, but thought I should share some updates, none the less.

Last weekend I found myself heading up to Edmonton for my day off. I had a beautiful trip. I spent the night with some friends, and then the next day went out for lunch with an old friend. In between I did get to go for a walk in Edmonton, along a neat bridge and then through some trails along the riverside.

One of the friends that I spent the night with has lived throughout Canada, Europe, The Middle East, and Asia. He mentioned that Edmonton has quickly become one of his favourite cities to live in, and I understand why. Canada is great, it is beautiful, and the people help make it that much better. In the hours I spent in the city I could see what he was talking about. Here are a few pics I took along my walk.

IMG_0825 IMG_0826 IMG_0842 IMG_0822 IMG_0831 IMG_0835 IMG_0844 IMG_0836 IMG_0840 IMG_0834 IMG_0853 IMG_0856 IMG_0852

It wouldn’t be me without a flower shot or two. These little flowers have always intrigued me since my days at the University of Winnipeg; where I remember observing them grow in parking lots and between buildings. They are called Harebell (Campanula rotundifolia), and I was very glad to see them again, growing in a somewhat more natural environment.

IMG_0846

This morning, I got to go for my first trip in a glider. I’ve always appreciated what the glider program offers our air cadets, and have spent a fair amount of time on the field, and on push crews in Kakabeka Falls, ON and Gimli, MB. This morning in Natook, AB, I was given the opportunity to finally take flight, and it was truly awesome. Although part of me wishes I could have gotten up with one of our 16/17/18 year old cadet pilots, I was glad to get up with a fellow staff member and fairly new graduate of the program. It wasn’t long after our launch that he took his hands off the controls and let me pilot for most of the flight, although, he did have to tell me nose down, and more rudder a few times. Lol None, the less a peaceful, quiet flight…

IMG_0884 IMG_0868 IMG_0869 IMG_0872 IMG_0877 IMG_0879 IMG_0882 IMG_0883

Last summer Rick Mercer also had the opportunity for a glider flight out of Natook here is a link to his footage, http://youtu.be/ZrctbfusPWs The difference is that in this video they launched using a tow plane, which pulls the glider up into the sky. Today we launched using a winch. I like to think of the winch method as ‘sling shot-ing’ us into flight. Basically a truck engine sits at the other end of a field with a cable attached to the glider. The engine reeves, and pulls in the cable, causing the glider to lift off. I’ve been told that this is a quicker climb rate than an F-18 jet (not quicker speed). Here is also a video showing a winch launch; http://youtu.be/K15X60uhDh8

Once more from the desk of Captain Mitchell

dsc_0741

(A pic of me, while performing my duties as MC at another grad parade)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

