September – A Month at Home

Well after working all summer in Red Deer at PACSTC I had one more, short job to do in Thunder Bay. I spent a week down there teaching the Senior Instructors Course to military officers in the Cadet Instructor Cadre. This was my first experience working for the Regional Cadet Instructor School (Central). I really enjoyed my experience, and the course was good. There were a lot of local students which was refreshing.

I got to spend the month of September at home.

I truly had a great time doing ‘nothing’. That being said I was still very busy.

I spent a lot of quality time with family and friends.

This included two trips to Winnipeg for a weekend, a weekend at ‘camp’ on Lake of the Woods, some tubing, some canoeing, walking/hiking, taking my niece and nephew to swimming lessons and gymnastics, dinner with friends and just some time to hang out. I also spent a week with mom, going to local business to get ‘stamps’ in hope of winning tickets to see Pink! in Winnipeg. FYI, we did win, the concert is October 26th; Mom’s birthday. I’m not sure yet who is going with Mom, it may be me.

It also allowed me some time to get ready for my next two trips. I truly like to travel, but I also like being at home

Somehow I even found time to help my Dad cut some moose at our ‘shop’ as part of the family business “Mitchell’s Meat & Sausage”. Growing up we spent many hours in the shop; working. But it was all worth while.

I felt truly blessed to observe some beauty. The last few weeks I’ve enjoyed watching the leaves change colour. While driving I spent a lot of time thinking about the human eye, and how remarkable an organ it really is. I’ve dissected eyes with students in the past; we talk about cornea donation and organ donation in general. There are some surprising statistics about organ donation in Canada. Each year my students after finishing this unit create a poster for the Eye Bank of Canada. I hang these in the school for a few weeks before sending them off to Toronto. I was delighted to find out (while in Thunder Bay) that one of the people I know in Kenora collects eye tissue for donation. I think it would be a difficult; yet rewarding job.

But enough of the side story, and back to the beauty of changing leaves and fall. While driving several times I wanted to stop and take pictures to share on Facebook, Twitter, or this blog. However, I know that a photo never really captures the beauty that we see with our eyes. They really are incredible organs. They can do so much without us thinking about it, I really find it amazing how they focus in on everything, all the detail. Many times I’ve seen something that looks fantastic, a big moon, mountains and other landscapes, buildings, etc. But try capturing how magnificent it appears to the human eye, it is almost impossible (unless you have a really nice camera, filters, software, etc).

None the less, one of the days this month I decided that I need to try and capture some of the beauty, share it, and wish that others are experiencing beauty in their life. On said day, there was some heavy cloud cover, with a little bit of rain, a little bit of thunder and some lighting. But I decided it was perfect to try and take some pictures. Enjoy;

IMG_1220 IMG_1227 IMG_1236 IMG_1243 IMG_1254 IMG_1257 IMG_1261 IMG_1265 IMG_1266 IMG_1280 IMG_1282 IMG_1284 IMG_1293 IMG_1295 IMG_1296ii IMG_1300 IMG_1304 IMG_1309 IMG_1313 IMG_1314ii IMG_1319ii IMG_1321ii

Then just last night, I woke up at 3AM to use the washroom. I had seen earlier that there was a G1 (minor) Geomatics Storm going on, and was guessing that this might mean some good Northern Lights. So while checking facebook at 3, I saw some pictures from Thunder Bay, so decided to go for a drive and see what I could find (in all my beauty of my house coat and yellow crocks). Low and behold, I did not have to go too far. There were lots, everywhere. Again I was blessed with beauty, and hope you are too.

Next stop, Italy with my Mom and older sister Renee. This is my third visit to this wonderful country, but the first for my Mom and Sister. I’m so excited to share this with them. I’ve set some automatic updates so that you know what I’ve been doing. I’ll also try to write some of my own blog entries and add pictures while traveling.

To close, here is one of my favourite Latin phrases; Pax et Bonum

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September – A Month at Home

  1. Thanks for sharing the photos Ted. Many times cloudy days are best for getting good colours. And I laughed at my mental image of you in a housecoat and yellow crocks. I’m glad I’m not the only one who does stuff like that!
    Miss you, my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

