The night before the next chapter…

I must say I’ve really enjoyed the last two weeks that have been spent with family and friends. I really do have some great people in my life. If there is one thing that my travels and work has taught me this year is that I miss being away from these people, and constantly look forward to the next time we can see each other.

As for Italy,

It was a great trip. I love being in Italy, and look forward to the next time I go back to visit. That being said this trip was different.

On our way, while in the Montreal airport, 30 minutes before our next flight departed we found out that our beloved Aunt Marry had passed away. She is close to all our hearts. We had a cry and hug in the airport and decided to continue with the trip as planned, as hard as it was. This did set a different tone for all of us and the trip. I don’t think we were truly able to grieve or seek any closure. We did attend mass, and light many candles throughout Italy for both Aunt Mary and her family. The picture below is of a candle that I light in Sienna at the Basilica of San Domenico. It seemed fitting to be lighting candles in front of Mary the Mother of God, as Aunt Mary had a strong faith and devotion, but was also an outstanding mother, grandmother, wife, and played so many other roles in her life. Another special thing about this church is that it is the resting place of Saint Catherine of Sienna, and her relics lied just across the church. May Aunt Mary rest in Peace, she will be missed by many.

IMG_1406

Somehow we all still managed to have a good time, and see many wonderful things. I’m glad that we made the trip and wouldn’t change a thing. This was my third trip to Italy, but the first time for my Mom and sister; Renee. They were great travel partners, and the only thing that might have improved it would be to have the rest of the family there too.

As my third time there, I didn’t take many pictures and instead let mom and Renee play photographer. They took many pictures and already shared them on facebook, so feel free to visit their pages and see the photo’s. That being said I did snap a few.

Venice – beautiful in its own right. We spent a lot of time on the water and visited some interesting sites, including the museum of natural history (there are somethings about Renee that I’ll never understand). Our gondola ride was great and had some great singing to accompany it.

IMG_1342 IMG_1343 IMG_1344 IMG_1346 IMG_1353 IMG_1354 IMG_1370 IMG_1380 IMG_1391 IMG_1398 IMG_1399

Florence – We did not spend too much time in Florence proper, but also explored the region of Tuscany where we tested many wines. The featured wine of this region is the Chianti Classico, which I tasted many different, if planning on buying a bottle back here in Canada be sure to look for a band with a black rooster on the neck of the bottle.

IMG_1404 IMG_1409 IMG_1411 IMG_1415 IMG_1427 IMG_1431 IMG_1438 IMG_1449 IMG_1451 IMG_1454 IMG_1456 IMG_1460 IMG_1470 IMG_1488 IMG_1490 IMG_1505 IMG_1508 IMG_1512 IMG_1524 IMG_1535

Orvieto was one of our favourite stops on the way to Rome. While waiting to ride the funicular out of the town I had a chance to snap a few scenic pics.

IMG_1548 IMG_1553 IMG_1554 IMG_1560 IMG_1563 IMG_1570 IMG_1573 IMG_1575 IMG_1581 IMG_1584 IMG_1585 IMG_1592 IMG_1600

Rome and Pompeii. I love Rome, as we drove in a got a feeling of returning to somewhere dear to the heart. I’m not sure why, but I really like this city, and everything about it. A highlight for Renee was to visit the ruins of Pompeii.

IMG_1607 IMG_1608 IMG_1609 IMG_1614 IMG_1620 IMG_1625 IMG_1627 IMG_1629 IMG_1635 IMG_1648 IMG_1656 IMG_1668 IMG_1670 IMG_1678 IMG_1693 IMG_1699 IMG_1706

Well it truly was a great trip. I don’t think it was the trip that we had signed up for or necessarily wanted but none the less it was a great trip. One of the best things about travel is it makes you appreciate all that you have, from amenities to family and friends. I’ve said it many times before; travel is great, it is awesome to be out seeing and experiencing the world. But it is also great to return home. I guess all good things must come to an end.

IMG_1647

Well I guess I am off on the next leg of my adventure in the morning. Two months in South America. I’ll post pics and updates. I’ve borrowed and brought a spot with me; feel free to click this link all that you want to see where I am and where I’ve been.

http://tinyurl.com/pk22487

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The night before the next chapter…

  1. tyanajones says:

    Great Pictures.

Leave a Reply

